San Diego Joins Energy Secure Cities Coalition





San Diego and seven other cities have joined together to form the Energy Secure Cities Coalition (ESCC). Each city has committed  to transition its municipal fleets to alternative fuel vehicles and the ESCC will provide a forum to share goals and best practices.

Other cities in the ESCC include Sacramento; Atlanta; Orlando; Charlotte, North Carolina; Indianapolis, Indiana; Rochester, New York; and West Palm Beach, Florida. The coalition hopes to expand to 25 cities by 2025 in order to reach an ultimate goal of taking 50,000 petroleum-fueled vehicles off the road and saving 500,000 barrels of oil each year.

The City of San Diego plans to increase the number of zero-emission vehicles to 90% of its municipal fleet by 2035, as specified by its ambitious climate action plan. In the ESCC news release, San Diego Mayor Kevin Faulconer said “the City of San Diego isn’t just a city dedicated to clean technology and renewable energy, we’re a city dedicated to being a global leader in environmental sustainability.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *